Understanding Insurance Requirements in Florida-
CHOOSE THE 2s!™ (561) 222-2222
Client Portal Click Here

Understanding Insurance Requirements in Florida

Insurance Requirements in Florida

If you’ve registered a vehicle in Florida, you’re required to obtain insurance coverage. Florida, like most other states, has set a minimum amount of insurance which all drivers are required to carry. This minimum coverage is at least $10,000 worth of property damage liability insurance, and another $10,000 in personal injury protection.

Minimum Coverage

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance

Florida is a “no-fault” auto insurance state, meaning your insurance company will be responsible for compensating you in the event of a crash no matter who was at fault. Personal injury protection insurance covers you in your own vehicle, as well as other vehicles you may be a passenger in. This insurance will also cover you if you are involved in a pedestrian accident or bicycle accident. Additionally, PIP insurance will cover your children, other members of your household, and any passengers who do not have PIP insurance, provided they also do not own a car. The amount you can recover in an insurance claim is capped by the limits of your policy.

Minimum: $10,000 PIP coverage in the state of Florida
Property Damage Liability (PDL) Insurance

While personal injury protection covers bodily harm and injuries, PDL coverage covers damages to other people’s property. The most common example of this is damage to the vehicle, but can also include things like walls, fences, or even valuable stored inside the car at the time of the crash.

Minimum: $10,000 PDL coverage in Florida
Optional Coverage: Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) Insurance

In addition to PIP insurance, which covers injuries to you and specific passengers, and PDL, which covers damage to other peoples’ property, there is also BIL coverage. This bodily injury liability insurance can pay for serious injury or death to other parties when you are at fault for the crash. Essentially, this coverage gives you financial defense in case you are sued by an injured person, but many insurers also provide legal representation if this happens.

What if I Don’t Have Insurance?

If you’re driving without insurance, the best case scenario is a license suspension of up to 3 years and fees which can total $500. If you injure someone while driving without insurance, you can potentially be sued and must pay the damages out of pocket. Driving without insurance is illegal, and highly irresponsible.

For more about Florida car insurance requirements, download Palm Beach County car crash attorney Craig Goldenfarb’s guide: “What Car Insurance Do I Need? “ The West Palm Beach Law Offices of Craig Goldenfarb, P.A. offer a free insurance-registration holder to all West Palm Beach drivers. Request yours by clicking here.

Injured in a car crash? Call Law Offices of Craig Goldenfarb, P.A. to pursue fair compensation for your injuries.